Ward Thomas Reveal Affecting Video for New Single ‘No Filter’ New Album ‘Restless Minds’ Out February 8th

Rising UK stars Ward Thomas (24-year-old twin sisters Catherine and Lizzy), have released the compelling video for new single ‘No Filter’, taken from their eagerly anticipated forthcoming album ‘Restless Minds’ out February 8th on WTW Music/Sony Music.

The video draws on wider themes from the forthcoming album – what ‘the truth’ means in 2019, and society’s pressure to conform. Framed by a group therapy setting, Catherine and Lizzy are seen amongst three others, all of whom silently carry their own burdens and are visibly insecure. “For us, the core message in this song is to learn to accept who we are and to embrace every aspect of ourselves. In a world where we are tempted to cloak our lives in a filter online, we wanted to challenge that culture with real and unfiltered experiences that many of us have witnessed”. The girls say of the video “We all struggle with something – whether it’s our weight, our appearance, our sexuality or anything that might be regarded as ‘abnormal’ in the eyes of some parts of culture. We see young people growing up in this world where it often feels like we are judged on our external achievements or our looks and where people can be so unkind when they have a keyboard to hide behind. So learning to accept ourselves and be happy in our own skin has become harder than ever.”

In the video, emotional backstory footage and vignettes delve into the personal lives of the characters and show what they have been through. No longer bound by their need to hide behind a filter, the façade from each individual is removed and they are finally able to be themselves. The girls explain “we wanted it to represent how exhilarating letting go can be and to show that although self-acceptance can be a difficult journey we are better off if we are honest and strip away the filters”. Powerful, potent and incredibly moving, this is a video that everyone and anyone living in the 21st century can relate to.

A diverse 15 song collection, Restless Minds was written in Nashville, London and Hampshire with previous collaborators Jessica Sharman, Rebekah Powell and Martin Terefe (Shawn Mendes) in addition to Ed Drewitt (Little Mix), Rachel Furner (Craig David) and Steve Robson (Paloma Faith). The album was produced in London by Martin Terefe and Joe Rubel (Ed Sheeran).

UK Tour Dates

February 2019 (w/ support from The Wandering Hearts)
Sun 24th ​​​BEXHILL, De La Warr Pavilion
Mon 25th ​​​YORK, Barbican
Tues 26th ​​​GUILDFORD, G-Live
Wed 28th ​​​BRISTOL, O2 Academy

March 2019
Fri 1st ​​​​CAMBRIDGE, Junction
Sat 2nd ​​​NORWICH, Open
Mon 4th ​​​CARDIFF, St David’s
Tues 5th ​​​LEICESTER, De Montfort Hall
Wed 6th ​​​MANCHESTER, Albert Hall

April 2019
Mon 1st ​​​BIRMINGHAM Institute
Tues 2nd ​​​SOUTHAMPTON, O2 Guildhall
Wed 3rd ​​​LONDON, O2 Shepherd’s Bush Empire
Fri 5th ​​​​GLASGOW, SWG3
Sat 6th ​​​​GATESHEAD, Sage

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s