ICYMI: UK Americana Award 2021 winners include Robert Vincent and Courtney Marie Andrews  

At the Americana Music Association UK (AMA-UK) 2021’s Awards Robert Vincent and Courtney Marie Andrews took won awards for UK Artist and UK Album of the Year, and International Artist and International Album of the Year respectively.

UK Song of the Year was scooped by Yola and International Song of the Year by The Secret Sisters in their first ever award win. Anna Corcoran, who played on both Robert Vincent and Laura Marling’s latest albums, was named UK Instrumentalist of the Year. The best-selling Americana Album of the Year, in conjunction with The Official Chart Company, was Laura Marling’s Song For Our Daughter.

Special Awards conferred by the AMA-UK Board were presented to: Elvis Costello, Mavis Staples, Christine McVie, and Steve Earle. The Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award went to Robbie Cavannagh and Demi Marriner and The Grassroots Award to Music Venue Trust – Mark Davyd and Beverly Whitrick. The late John Prine was honoured with the specially created Songwriter Legacy Award 2021, in celebration of the legendary US singer-songwriter’s life and work.

The UK Americana Awards show featured unique performances from: American Aquarium, Courtney Marie Andrews, Emily Barker, Robbi Cavanagh, Elvis Costello, Charley Crockett, Ferris & Sylvester, Steve Earle, Mary Gauthier, Jason Isbell (and the 400 Unit), Austin Lucas, Demi Marriner, Lady Nade, Katie Pruitt, Robert Vincent, Lucinda Williams and Gillian Welch & David Rawlings. Once again presented by Bob Harris OBE, the show also featured appearances from award-winning actor Colin Firth CBE, BBC Radio 2’s Johnnie Walker, BBC Radio 6’s Steve Lamacq and Fleetwood Mac’s Christine McVie.

The event rounded off a highly successful AmericanaFest UK. The Showcase Festival, which ran across two stages on January 26 and 27, delivered 14 hours of music across two days. Highlights were sets from Courtney Marie Andrews, Joshua Burnside, Darlingside, Jason Isbell (and the 400 Unit), Larkin Poe, Jim Lauderdale, Mipso, Katie Pruitt, The Mavericks and The War and Treaty. There were prestigious international showcases held by Thirty Tigers, Canadian Independent Music Association, Sounds Australia, Yep Roc, North Carolina Music Export and Prince Edward Island and from the UK, leading independent Americana label Loose Music. The AMA-UK proudly presented a gender balanced programme for the 4th year running; something it champions in all its activities.

Winners and Special Awards for the UK Americana Awards 2021:

Nominations for the member-voted Awards:

UK Song of the Year

I Should Be On A Train by Ferris and Sylvester (Written by Issy Ferris and Archie Sylvester

Ain’t One Thing by Lady Nade (Written by Lady Nade )

Thin (I Used To Be Bullet Proof) by Our Man In The Field (Written by Alexander Ellis)

I Don’t Wanna Lie by Yola (Written by Yola, Dan Auerbach, Bobby Wood) WINNER

UK Album of the Year

A Dark Murmuration of Words by Emily Barker (produced by Greg Freeman)

Song For Our Daughter by Laura Marling (Produced by Ethan Johns, Laura Marling)

In This Town You’re Owned by Robert Vincent (Produced by Ethan Johns) WINNER

Hannah White and The Nordic Connections by Hannah White (Produced by Hannah White and The Nordic Connections)

UK Artist of the Year

Emily Barker

Laura Marling

Robert Vincent WINNER


UK Instrumentalist of the Year

Anna Corcoran WINNER

Lukas Drinkwater

Martin Harley

Michele Stodart

International Song of the Year

Welcome to Hard Times by Charley Crockett (Written by Charley Crockett)

Brightest Star by Lilly Hiatt (Written by Lilly Hiatt)

Already Dead by Austin Lucas (Written by Austin Lucas)

Hand Over My Heart by The Secret Sisters (Written by Elizabeth Rogers, Lydia Lane Rogers) WINNER

International Album of the Year

Lamentations by American Aquarium (Produced by Shooter Jennings)

Old Flowers by Courtney Marie Andrews (Produced by Andrew Sarlo) WINNER

That’s How Rumors Get Started by Margo Price (Produced by Sturgill Simpson with co-production by David R. Ferguson and Margo Price)

Expectations by Katie Pruitt (Produced by Michael Robinson, Katie Pruitt)

International Artist of the Year

Courtney Marie Andrews WINNER

Jason Isbell

Gillian Welch and David Rawlings

Lucinda Williams

Special Awards:

Best Selling Americana Album in conjunction with The Official Charts Company (OCC): Laura Marling Song For Our Daughter

Lifetime Achievement Award: Elvis Costello

International Lifetime Achievement Award: Mavis Staples  

Trailblazer Award: Christine McVie  

International Trailblazer Award: Steve Earle   

Songwriter Legacy Award: John Prine 

Bob Harris Emerging Artist Award: Robbie Cavannagh and Demi Marriner 

Grassroots Award: Music Venue Trust – Mark Davyd and Beverly Whitrick

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s