Album News: Ags Connolly is Wrong Again.

Wrong Again is Ags Connolly’s third studio album, following on from his highly-acclaimed offerings How About Now (2014) and Nothin’ Unexpected (2017).

The traditional country singer-songwriter from Oxfordshire took the reins on this latest effort, producing the album with a team of London-based musicians in the peaceful and intimate surroundings of Woodworm Studios in his home county. Ags also enlisted the expert help of accordionist Michael Guerra (The Mavericks) and fiddle player Eamon McLoughlin (Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell), both of whom had graced his previous album.

Alongside Ags’ trademark honky tonk shuffles, drinking songs and barroom ballads, Wrong Again delves once more into Tex-Mex/south-of-the-border flavours while entering some new territory in the lively western swing closer Sad Songs Forever. Meanwhile, the one cover on the album is a swelling, earthy imagining of Gordon Lightfoot’s classic Early Morning Rain. Whilst perhaps not a concept album in the accepted sense, Wrong Again does feature recurring themes: miles covered in cars and planes, the lone existence of the protagonist, the spectre of Austin, Texas – all gathered in the unforgiving shadow of lost love. These undercurrents tie the songs to each other and ultimately form a very personal record of the period in which they were written.

Ags Connolly has built a reputation over the last few years as an uncompromising country traditionalist in the UK and beyond, having headlined shows across the US and Europe. In an era when the pop and rock incarnations of country music are enjoying a surge of popularity in the UK, Ags continues to defend the last outpost of the genre’s traditional roots. Wrong Again is another defiant offering in this vein, whilst also once again showcasing the high songwriting and lyrical standards Ags’ music has come to be known for.

1. I’ll Say When

2. The Meaning of the Word

3. Lonely Nights in Austin

4. Wrong Again (You Lose a Life)

5. Say It Out Loud

6. What Were You Gonna Do About It

7. Indian Sign

8. Early Morning Rain

9. Then and Now
10. Sad Songs Forever

Release Date UK/EU: 1st November

Categories: Latest

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s